Open Venues

Roll over the locations to the left to get more information on each of the venues.

Click to read further information on the selected course.

The next Open Championship event will be held at Royal Liverpool on 17 — 20 July 2014.

Roll over the map for information on each venueCarnoustieMuirfieldMusselburghPrestwickPrince'sRoyal BirkdaleRoyal Cinque PortsRoyal LiverppolRoyal Lytham & St AnnesRoyal PortrushRoyal St George'sRoyal TroonSt AndrewsTurnberry

Opens: 1860, 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865, 1866, 1867, 1868, 1869, 1870, 1872, 1875, 1878, 1881, 1884, 1887, 1890, 1893, 1898, 1903, 1908, 1914, 1925
Location: Prestwick, Ayrshire, Scotland

Prestwick Golf Club is the original home of The Open Championship. The event was organised by members of the club, who subscribed £25 towards the purchase of the distinctive red Championship Belt, which was the original prize for the winner. The club hosted each of the first dozen Championships before St Andrews and Musselburgh joined a three-way rotation of host venues in 1873 and 1874 respectively.

The original course, built in 1851, consisted of 12 holes which played their way up and down across the linksland dunes. By modern standards the holes at Prestwick make up an unusual routing, with plenty of blind shots and unusual angles to test the unwary golfer. These playing characteristics were retained when, in 1882, the course was extended to 18 holes, and to this day Prestwick remains an astonishing piece of golfing land that invariably takes first time visitors completely by surprise – particularly those playing without caddies.

Prestwick at a glance
Course length (1925 Open)
6,544 yards, par 71 (est.)
Great Moment
Harry Vardon winning The Open at Prestwick in 1914, with a score of 306. It was Vardon’s sixth win in the event, a record which still stands to this day.
Club website

Though Prestwick’s eccentricity and relative lack of length mean that it no longer plays host to The Open, its record of having hosted the Championship 24 times is one that is bettered only by St Andrews. Between 1860 and 1925, the club witnessed all the greats of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, including Old and Young Tom Morris, Willie Park and Willie Auchterlonie. Yet of all the players who won The Open at the venue, it is perhaps Harry Vardon who sticks out. Vardon won three of his six titles at the Ayrshire course, and had the coming of the First World War not interrupted the playing of the championship, he might have won more.

  • Patrons of The Open 2014

    The R&A extends its gratitude to its Patrons for their support of The Open Championship.

  • Doosan
  • HSBC
  • Mastercard
  • Mercedes Benz
  • Nikon
  • Ralph Lauren
  • Rolex

+ Sitemap

News Archive
Newsletter - Register for latest news
Latest Weather from the Met Office
Tee Times
Course Guide
Spectator Advice
TV schedule
2014 Ticket Prices
Travel To The Course
The Open at Liverpool One
Employment and Volunteering
Official Suppliers
Future Venues
The Open magazine
Ticket Registration 2015
Current Field – 2014
Entry List
Exempt players page
Open Champions
Previous Opens
Open Champions
Do You Know
Claret Jug
Open Venues
The R&A Film Archive
Media Accreditation Contact
Media Centre Register
Media Centre - Approved Users
Championship Stats
Contact Details
2013 Media Centre
Video & Audio
Video & Audio
Press Conferences

Share usingclose

Google iconGoogle BookmarksDeliciousDeliciousDiggDiggFacebookFacebookNewsvineNewsvineNowPublicNowPublicRedditRedditStumbleUponStumbleUponPrint this page

Send to a friend close

Your details

Send to