Royal Birkdale

Open Venues

Roll over the locations to the left to get more information on each of the venues.

Click to read further information on the selected course.

The next Open Championship event will be held at Royal Liverpool on 17 — 20 July 2014.

Roll over the map for information on each venueCarnoustieMuirfieldMusselburghPrestwickPrince'sRoyal BirkdaleRoyal Cinque PortsRoyal LiverppolRoyal Lytham & St AnnesRoyal PortrushRoyal St George'sRoyal TroonSt AndrewsTurnberry

Opens: 1954, 1961, 1965, 1971, 1976, 1983, 1991, 1998, 2008
Location: Southport, Merseyside, England

Royal Birkdale sits on a stretch of beautiful linksland which runs almost uninterrupted for 20 miles north of Liverpool. The course was first established in 1889, but was extensively redesigned in 1922 by Fred Hawtree and J. H. Taylor to create the current layout, which winds its way through the sand dunes towering over each of the fairways.

The Open was originally due to visit Royal Birkdale in 1940, but the advent of war delayed this until 1954; since then, however, the course has been (alongside Royal Lytham) the most regular venue for the Championship other than St Andrews, and the 2008 Open marked the ninth visit of the event to the Merseyside links.

Birkdale at a glance
Course length (2008 Open)
7,173 yards, par 71
Great Moment
Padraig Harrington came to the 71st hole in 2008 nursing a slender lead in tough conditions, but his sublime 5-wood to three foot set up an eagle that secured him his second successive Open Championship.
Club website

At Birkdale’s first Open, Peter Thomson won the first of three Opens in succession; he returned to the same course in 1965 to add his fifth and final title. Arnold Palmer’s victory in 1961 is recognised as the turning point in the fortunes of The Open, giving new life and international impact to the championship. Almost every time the Championship has visited Birkdale it has been a multiple Major winner who has lifted the Claret Jug, with successes by Lee Trevino (1971), Johnny Miller (1976), Tom Watson (1983), Mark O’Meara (1998) and most recently Ireland’s Padraig Harrington (2008). Australian Ian Baker-Finch, who won The Open here in 1991, remains the only Birkdale victor never to have lifted another Major trophy.

  • Patrons of The Open 2014

    The R&A extends its gratitude to its Patrons for their support of The Open Championship.

  • Doosan
  • HSBC
  • Mastercard
  • Mercedes Benz
  • Nikon
  • Ralph Lauren
  • Rolex

+ Sitemap

News Archive
Newsletter - Register for latest news
Latest Weather from the Met Office
Tee Times
Course Guide
Spectator Advice
TV schedule
2014 Ticket Prices
Travel To The Course
The Open at Liverpool One
Employment and Volunteering
Official Suppliers
Future Venues
The Open magazine
Ticket Registration 2015
Current Field – 2014
Entry List
Exempt players page
Open Champions
Previous Opens
Open Champions
Do You Know
Claret Jug
Open Venues
The R&A Film Archive
Media Accreditation Contact
Media Centre Register
Media Centre - Approved Users
Championship Stats
Contact Details
2013 Media Centre
Video & Audio
Video & Audio
Press Conferences

Share usingclose

Google iconGoogle BookmarksDeliciousDeliciousDiggDiggFacebookFacebookNewsvineNewsvineNowPublicNowPublicRedditRedditStumbleUponStumbleUponPrint this page

Send to a friend close

Your details

Send to