NewsRSS feed

The 141st Open Championship: The Draw

16 July 2012 10:17 BST

Tiger Woods will get his bid for a 4th Open victory underway when he tees up at 9.42 on Thursday morning.

The three-time Open champion goes out in a stellar group alongside Englishman, Justin Rose, and Spaniard Sergio Garcia, both of whom will be bidding to win their first Major title.

2011 champion, Darren Clarke, made his breakthrough last year at Royal St George’s and he is rewarded with another plumb pairing alongside 2002 champion, Ernie Els, and 2007 Masters champion, Zach Johnson, who comes into The Open on a high after winning last week’s John Deere Classic on the PGA Tour. The Northern Irelander, South African and American go out in game No. 16 at 9.09 on Thursday morning.

Elsewhere, Clarke’s ISM management group stablemate, Lee Westwood, goes out at 9.20 alongside reigning Masters champion, Bubba Watson, and Japan’s Yoshinori Fujimoto. Duvid Duval, the champion the last time The Open was staged at Royal Lytham & St Annes back in 2001 is in the group at 7.47 alongside Frenchman, Raphael Jacquelin and Spanish veteran, Miguel Angel Jimenez, while reigning Amateur champion, Alan Dunbar, from Northern Ireland, is paired with Australia’s Adam Scott and American Matt Kuchar, winner of this season’s Players Championship. They start at 8.42 on Thursday morning.

The honour of hitting the first shot of the day falls to English veteran, Barry Lane, who starts alongside American, James Driscoll at 6.19 am.

Among the afternoon starters, Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy, the 2011 US Open champion, is paired with 2010 Open champion, Louis Oosthuizen and 2011 USPGA champion, Keegan Bradley. Their time is 2.21. Just behind them, at 2.23, is 2007 and 2008 Open champion, Padraig Harrington, together with exciting American, Rickie Fowler, who finished tied 5th at St George’s, and 2011 European Amateur champion, Manuel Trappel from Austria.

Luke Donald, the World No. 1, heads out at 2.43 alongside Phil Mickelson and Geoff Ogilvy.

View the full draw here.

No Flash
  • Patrons of The Open 2014

    The R&A extends its gratitude to its Patrons for their support of The Open Championship.

  • Doosan
  • HSBC
  • Mastercard
  • Mercedes Benz
  • Nikon
  • Ralph Lauren
  • Rolex

+ Sitemap

News Archive
Newsletter - Register for latest news
Latest Weather from the Met Office
Tee Times
Course Guide
Spectator Advice
TV schedule
2014 Ticket Prices
Travel To The Course
The Open at Liverpool One
Employment and Volunteering
Official Suppliers
Future Venues
The Open magazine
Ticket Registration 2015
Current Field – 2014
Entry List
Exempt players page
Open Champions
Previous Opens
Open Champions
Do You Know
Claret Jug
Open Venues
The R&A Film Archive
Media Accreditation Contact
Media Centre Register
Media Centre - Approved Users
Championship Stats
Contact Details
2013 Media Centre
Video & Audio
Video & Audio
Press Conferences

Share usingclose

Google iconGoogle BookmarksDeliciousDeliciousDiggDiggFacebookFacebookNewsvineNewsvineNowPublicNowPublicRedditRedditStumbleUponStumbleUponPrint this page

Send to a friend close

Your details

Send to