Ruling of the Day - Timing is everything
They say timing is everything in golf, and that was certainly the case for Scotland’s Richie Ramsay as he finished off his Saturday round of The Open
They say timing is everything in golf, and that was certainly the case for Scotland’s Richie Ramsay as he finished off his Saturday round of The Open in front of the packed grandstands adjoining Royal Birkdale’s iconic clubhouse. Putting out on the 18th green, having played his second shot to 12 feet from the hole, Ramsay’s putt seemed destined for the hole before it stopped agonisingly short and came to rest on the lip of the hole. However, after a brief hesitation of around 4-5 seconds, Ramsay’s ball dropped into the cup for a birdie, much to the delight of both the player and the gallery.
Had the ball stayed at rest for slightly longer, however, things may have been slightly different as, under Rule 16-2, when a ball overhangs the lip of the hole the player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay. The player is then allowed an additional ten seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest.
If the ball has not fallen into the hole by the time the additional ten seconds has elapsed, the ball is judged to be at rest on the lip meaning that if the ball was then to subsequently fall into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke, but is required to add a penalty of one stroke to his score for the hole (Rule 16-2).