Thursday 16 July 2020  Adult Tickets £85 / Youth Tickets £42.50

Championship Day One

Round one at The 149th Open

Royal St George's became the first venue outside Scotland to host The Open in 1894 and golf's original Championship returns to the Kent coast in 2020 for the fifteenth time.

In 2011 Darren Clarke fulfilled his boyhood dream of becoming Champion Golfer of the Year. In challenging weather conditions he held off Americans Phil Mickelson and Dustin Johnson to become the third Ulsterman to win golf's most prestigious prize.


  • 26

    Players have led or been tied for the lead after round one and went on to win

  • 63

    Lowest opening round score at The Open (Phil Mickelson, Royal Troon, 2016 and Rory McIlroy, St Andrews, 2010)

  • 156

    Players will tee it up at Royal St George's to begin their quest for the Claret Jug

imAGES FROM Previous first rounds at THE OPEN