NewsRSS feed

R&A announces changes to Open entry criteria

30 November 2011 13:13 GMT


The R&A has announced changes to the entry criteria for next year’s Open Championship at Royal Lytham & St Annes.

The new qualification criteria for 2012, published today alongside the entry form, include a change that will also see the recipient of the McCormack Medal — presented to the leading player in the World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) at the culmination of the amateur summer season — gain automatic qualification.

Other changes include a new exemption that will allow past Major Champions into International and Local Final Qualifying (IFQ/LFQ).

For 2012, Patrick Cantlay, as the recipient of the 2011 McCormack Medal, has been awarded a place at Royal Lytham.

He joins other non-professionals including the winners of the Amateur Championship, the U.S. Amateur and the European Amateur in qualifying automatically for The Open.

R&A Director Michael Tate said: “The Open Championship entry criteria has been designed to ensure that we have the world’s best professional and amateur players competing at Royal Lytham & St Annes.

“The WAGR has grown considerably since its launch in 2007 and now covers more than 2,500 counting events and almost 6,000 players representing 100 countries. It is only right that the player who proves to be the most consistent over the course of the amateur season competes at The Open.”

The Open Championship, golf’s oldest Major, features a number of routes of qualification for those not exempt. Along with local and regional qualifying in the UK, IFQ events will be held next year in Africa (18, 19 January, Royal Johannesburg & Kensington, South Africa), America (21 May, Gleneagles Country Club, Plano, Texas, USA), Asia (1, 2 March, Amata Spring, Bangkok, Thailand), Australasia (10, 11 January, Kingston Heath, Melbourne, Australia) and Europe (25 June, Sunningdale, Berkshire, England).

For full details visit

No Flash
  • Patrons of The Open 2014

    The R&A extends its gratitude to its Patrons for their support of The Open Championship.

  • Doosan
  • HSBC
  • Mastercard
  • Mercedes Benz
  • Nikon
  • Ralph Lauren
  • Rolex

+ Sitemap

News Archive
Newsletter - Register for latest news
Latest Weather from the Met Office
Tee Times
Course Guide
Spectator Advice
TV schedule
2014 Ticket Prices
Travel To The Course
The Open at Liverpool One
Employment and Volunteering
Official Suppliers
Future Venues
The Open magazine
Ticket Registration 2015
Current Field – 2014
Entry List
Exempt players page
Open Champions
Previous Opens
Open Champions
Do You Know
Claret Jug
Open Venues
The R&A Film Archive
Media Accreditation Contact
Media Centre Register
Media Centre - Approved Users
Championship Stats
Contact Details
2013 Media Centre
Video & Audio
Video & Audio
Press Conferences

Share usingclose

Google iconGoogle BookmarksDeliciousDeliciousDiggDiggFacebookFacebookNewsvineNewsvineNowPublicNowPublicRedditRedditStumbleUponStumbleUponPrint this page

Send to a friend close

Your details

Send to