Skip to main content
Rory first tee
Rory first tee

Qualification for The 152nd Open
number of OQS events
11 different countries
Regional Qualifying
24 June
14 venues
Final Qualifying
2 July
4 venues
Minimum places available
Final Qualifying
Qualification for The 152nd Open

Seventeen players have already booked their spots in The 152nd Open at Royal Troon through The Open Qualifying Series.

Dean Burmester, Darren Fichardt and Dan Bradbury qualified at the Joburg Open before Joaquin Niemann, Rikuya Hoshino and Adam Scott earned the three places available at the ISPS Handa Australian Open.

The first qualifying event of 2024 was the IRS Prima Malaysian Open at The Mines Resort & Golf Club in February. Jeunghun Wang, Denwit Boriboonsub and John Catlin took the three places on offer, with the latter becoming exempt at the end of May when David Puig - the tournament's winner - qualified through a different route.

Brendon Todd has also booked his place through the Qualifying Series, courtesy of a sixth-place finish at the Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard, while Ryosuke Kinoshita, Guntaek Koh and Yuto Katsuragawa qualified at the Mizuno Open on the Japan Golf Tour.

Strong finishes by American duo Ben Griffin and Maverick McNealy at the RBC Canadian Open sealed their spots at Troon alongside Mackenzie Hughes.

Canadian Adam Hadwin punched his ticket to Troon thanks to a third-place finish at the Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village in June.

Golfers on the PGA TOUR will have further opportunities to qualify at the John Deere Classic in July.

On the DP World Tour, places will be awarded at the KLM Open, Italian Open and Genesis Scottish Open, which is co-sanctioned with the PGA TOUR. 

Two places will be offered at the KOLON Korea Open, which will be staged at Woo Jeong Hills in Cheonan in June.

Final Qualifying events will be held at Burnham & Berrow, Dundonald Links, Royal Cinque Ports and West Lancashire on 2 July with a minimum of 16 places available. This will follow 15 Regional Qualifying events taking place on 24 June. Fulford, Bearwood Lakes and Frilford Heath have been added to the list of venues hosting Regional Qualifying.

Where any golfer who earns a qualifying place through an Open Qualifying Series event before the closing date for entries then becomes exempt under one or more other categories, that qualifying place will be awarded to the next best placed non-exempt golfer at that qualifying event.

The list of exempt players for The 152nd Open at Royal Troon can be seen here.