Skip to main content
History of The Open

A rare double


Which players have won The Open and the PGA Championship?

Padraig Harrington poses with the Claret Jug and Wannamaker Trophy in 2008

Only a select group of players have achieved the double of winning both The Open and the PGA Championship.

The list of golfers who have lifted both the Claret Jug and the Wanamaker Trophy during their career includes many of the greatest players to ever pick up a club.

Just 18 players have won both Majors, while only five have completed the double in the same year.

Here is a rundown of every player to have triumphed in The Open and the PGA Championship.


Players who have won The Open and the PGA Championship in the same year

Walter Hagen (1924)

Walter Hagen was the first to achieve this incredible feat, winning both Championships in a stellar 1924, having also previously won the PGA Championship in 1921 and The Open in 1922.

He went on to win a further three PGA Championships and lifted the Claret Jug twice more in 1928 and 1929.

The legendary American finished his career with 11 Major titles.


Nick Price (1994)

It took 70 years for a player to repeat Hagen’s feat of winning The Open and the PGA Championship in the same year, with Nick Price the man to do so in 1994.

A runner-up at The Open in 1982 and 1988, Price won the PGA for the first time in 1992, triumphing by three shots at Bellerive Country Club.

He then matched Hagen with a dramatic one-stroke win over Jesper Parnevik in The 123rd Open at Turnberry and a comprehensive six-shot victory in the 1994 PGA Championship at Southern Hills.


Tiger Woods (2000, 2006)

There was not to be a 70-year wait for the next person to achieve an Open and PGA Championship double in the same year, as the great Tiger Woods did it in 2000.

Woods had already won the PGA Championship the year before, but he hit new heights in the summer of 2000, winning the U.S. Open in June by a staggering 15 strokes, The 129th Open at St Andrews by eight shots in July and a second PGA title following a play-off with Bob May in August.

Tiger Woods celebrates victory in The 129th Open

Tiger Woods celebrates winning The Open for the first time in 2000

He then won the Masters in 2001 to complete the ‘Tiger Slam’ and hold all four Major titles at the same time.

Six years on from his first Open and PGA double, Woods repeated the feat in 2006, as he secured his third Open success at Royal Liverpool, before beating Shaun Micheel by five strokes at Medinah.


Padraig Harrington (2008)

In 2008, Ireland’s Padraig Harrington had his best ever year.

After finishing fifth in the Masters, he went on to join the illustrious list of Champion Golfers who also added the PGA Championship trophy to their collection in the same calendar year.

Harrington finished four strokes clear of Ian Poulter to win his second consecutive Open Championship at Royal Birkdale, before a two-stroke win at Oakland Hills.


Rory McIlroy (2014)

The last person to do the ‘double’ was Rory McIlroy in 2014.

Already a two-time Major Champion thanks to dominant eight-shot wins in the 2011 U.S. Open and 2012 PGA, McIlroy doubled that tally with two wins in quick succession.

A wire-to-wire victory in The 143rd Open at Royal Liverpool was followed by the Northern Irishman claiming his second PGA Championship at Valhalla a month later.


Players who have won The Open and The PGA Championship in different years

Jock Hutchinson (The Open 1921, PGA Championship 1920)

Jim Barnes (The Open 1925, PGA Championship 1916 & 1919)

Tommy Armour (The Open 1931, PGA Championship 1930)

Gene Sarazen (The Open 1932, PGA Championship 1922, 1923 & 1933)

Denny Shute (The Open 1933, PGA Championship 1936 & 1937)

Sam Snead (The Open 1946, PGA Championship 1942, 1949 & 1951)

Ben Hogan (The Open 1953, PGA Championship 1946 & 1948)

Gary Player (The Open 1959, 1968 & 1974, PGA Championship 1962 & 1972)

Jack Nicklaus (The Open 1966, 1970 & 1978, PGA Championship 1963, 1971, 1973, 1975 & 1980)

Lee Trevino (The Open 1971 & 1972, PGA Championship 1974 & 1984)

John Daly (The Open 1995, PGA Championship 1991)

Phil Mickelson (The Open 2013, PGA Championship 2005 & 2021)

Collin Morikawa (The Open 2021; PGA Championship 2020)

More from The Open