Skip to main content
The Open Qualifying Series

Joburg Open


Dean Burmester, Darren Fichardt, Dan Bradbury qualify for The 152nd Open

(l-r) Dan Bradbury, Dean Burmester and Darren Fichardt pose with pin flags for The 152nd Open after qualifying through the Joburg Open

Dean Burmester, Darren Fichardt and Dan Bradbury will tee it up at The 152nd Open at Royal Troon following their displays in the Joburg Open.

An impressive bogey-free six-under-par final round helped Burmester clinch victory in the first event of The Open Qualifying Series.

Starting the day three shots behind Thriston Lawrence, Burmester finished up three shots clear of Fichardt and five clear of Bradbury, who won this title 12 months ago.

Burmester has appeared in The Open twice before, at Royal St George’s in 2021 and at The 150th Open at St Andrews in 2022 when he finished T11.

Fichardt will make his first appearance in golf’s original major since 2017.

The next event on The Open Qualifying Series is the ISPS HANDA Australian Open, between 30 November and 3 December 2023.

The 152nd Open takes place on 18-21 July 2024.