Skip to main content
David Puig poses with the Malaysian Open trophy

The IRS Prima Malaysian Open


The Open Qualifying Series Malaysia

Jeunghun Wang, Denwit Boriboonsub & John Catlin
The course
The Mines
Kuala Lumpur
15-18 February 2024

The Open Qualifying Series Malaysia

Jeunghun Wang, Denwit Boriboonsub and John Catlin claimed the three Open places on offer at the IRS Prima Malaysian Open.

David Puig (above) won the event and initially claimed a qualifying berth alongside Wang and Boriboonsub.

However, when Puig subsequently became exempt through the 2024 Federations Ranking List, the third qualifying place from Malaysia went to Catlin - who had finished tied-third with Boriboonsub but missed out at first due to the latter's higher position in the Official World Golf Ranking.

It will be a first taste of golf’s original major for Boriboonsub, while Wang has featured twice before, in 2016 – also at Royal Troon – and 2017, though he missed the cut on both occasions.

Catlin featured in The 149th Open and The 150th Open, but missed last year's Championship at Royal Liverpool. 

More from The Open