Skip to main content
The Open Qualifying Series

The Open Qualifying Series


All You Need To Know

A bag tag handed to competitors in The Open Qualifying Series

The road to The 150th Open saw a host of players book their places at St Andrews through The Open Qualifying Series for 2022.

We tell you all you need to know about The Open Qualifying Series and qualification for The Open.


How can you qualify for The Open?

There are several ways in which players can qualify for The Open Championship.

More than half of the 156 places in the field are granted through various exemption categories. For example, players already exempt include any Champion Golfer under the age of 60, the top 10 finishers at the previous Open Championship, the winners of selected elite amateur events and the top 30 finishers on the FedEx Cup and Race to Dubai rankings. A full list of exemption categories for The 150th Open can be found here.

Further places in the field are allocated through The Open Qualifying Series and Final Qualifying.

If a full field of 156 has not been reached through the exemption list, The Open Qualifying Series and Final Qualifying, the remaining places will be filled from the Official World Golf Rankings.


What is The Open Qualifying Series?

The Open Qualifying Series, or OQS, comprises a series of professional tour events across multiple continents at which players can secure their spots in The Open. Each event will offer places in The Open for players who are not already exempt.


Which tournaments are in The Open Qualifying Series for 2022?

Joburg Open branding

Randpark Golf Club, the venue for the 2021 Joburg Open

The schedule for The Open Qualifying Series is as follows:

25-28 November 2021: Joburg Open

20-23 January 2022: SMBC Singapore Open

10-13 February: The Vic Open

3-6 March: Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard 

26-29 May: Mizuno Open

26-29 May: Dutch Open

9-12 June: RBC Canadian Open

23-26 June: KOLON Korea Open

30 June-3 July: Irish Open

30 June-3 July: John Deere Classic

7-10 July: Genesis Scottish Open

7-10 July: Barbasol Championship

Professional and amateur players will also be able to reach The Open via Regional Qualifying and Final Qualifying, on Monday 20 June and Tuesday 28 June respectively.


How many places in The 150th Open are available through The Open Qualifying Series?

A minimum of 46 places will be available through The Open Qualifying Series and Final Qualifying.


Who has qualified for The 150th Open through The Open Qualifying Series so far?

Joburg Open: Thriston Lawrence, Zander Lombard and Ashley Chesters.

SMBC Singapore Open: Sadom Kaewkanjana, Yuto Katsuragawa, Joohyung Kim and Sihwan Kim.

Vic Open: Dimitrios Papadatos, Ben Campbell and Matthew Griffin.

Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by Mastercard: Chris Kirk and Talor Gooch.

Mizuno Open: Scott Vincent, Anthony Quayle, Brad Kennedy and Justin De Los Santos.

Dutch Open: Victor Perez, Ryan Fox and Adrian Meronk.

RBC Canadian Open: Keith Mitchell and Wyndham Clark.

KOLON Korea Open: Minkyu Kim and Mingyu Cho.

Final Qualifying: David Carey, Robert Dinwiddie, Lars van Meijel, Alex Wrigley, Barclay Brown, Richard Mansell, Oliver Farr, Marco Penge, Matthew Ford, Jamie Rutherford, Ronan Mullarney, Jack Floydd, Marcus Armitage, Sam Bairstow, Matthew Jordan and John Parry.

Horizon Irish Open: John Catlin, Fabrizio Zanotti and David Law.

John Deere Classic: J.T. Poston, Christiaan Bezuidenhout and Emiliano Grillo.

Genesis Scottish Open: Kurt Kitayama, Jamie Donaldson and Brandon Wu.

Barbasol Championship: Trey Mullinax.


How do I follow The Open Qualifying Series? and The Open’s social channels will provide coverage of every event in The Open Qualifying Series, including a preview of each tournament and reports that detail which players have booked their places in The 150th Open.


Who is playing in The Open Qualifying Series? will display starting fields in the days leading up to each event in The Open Qualifying Series.

Sadom Kaewkanjana, Yuto Katsuragawa, Joohyung Kim and Sihwan Kim

The four qualifiers from the SMBC Singapore Open

What will happen if players subsequently become exempt through other categories?

Any player who has qualified through The Open Qualifying Series is deemed an exempt player. In the event that the player in question subsequently fulfils other exemption categories, their place in the starting field may be made available to the highest-ranked players on the Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR) after the close of entries.


What happens if there is a tie for the last qualifying spot?

In the event of a tie for a qualifying place, with the exception of ties for first place, which will be determined in accordance with the conditions for the tournament concerned, the player with the higher ranking in the OWGR (as published at the start of each week) will be awarded a place in The Open.


What if players in the field are not ranked on the OWGR or have the same OWGR ranking?

If two or more competitors have the same OWGR, or two or more competitors have no OWGR, then ties will be decided by a card countback. The card countback will use the second 9 holes or 6 or 3 or 2 or 1 hole and if a tie still arises, the last 6 or 3 or 2 or 1 hole of the first 9 holes of the final round in OQS. If a tie still arises the same card countback will be used for the 3rd, 2nd and 1st rounds of the tournament.


When was The Open Qualifying Series introduced?

The Open Qualifying Series was introduced ahead of The 143rd Open at Royal Liverpool in 2014.

For a decade prior to that, players were given the opportunity to compete in International Final Qualifying - separate 36-hole qualifiers in the United States of America, Europe, Asia, Africa and Australasia.

The Open Qualifying Series includes events on all the major Tours around the world and is more convenient for the players as it will not involve separate events added to the schedules.

More from The Open